“The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.”–E. E. Cummings

Three weeks. Three exhilarating, wonderful, scary, stormy, shiny, new weeks. They say it takes 21 days to make a habit. If that’s true, then I’ve formed my college habit. It feels like I’ve been here for three months. I’ve made friends that already know me a lot better than I ever thought was possible in three weeks. We already  have inside jokes, which gives me a warm fuzzy feeling, and Jude and I named our room Zoe.  So, because it’s Saturday, and I slept for a very long time, and I don’t really feel like talking about my feelings or the future, in no particular order, here are some of the greatest hits of the past three weeks.

1.  Da Chen. The author of our common text, Colors of the Mountain, Da Chen spoke to us on three weeks ago today. His talk was funny, poignant, musical and wonderfully inspiring. He told us that we were incredibly lucky, remarking that he felt “fortunate to be in the company of the fortunate.” He regaled us with stories of his childhood and his present family. He also gave us one of the greatest lines of all time, one that we’ll probably still be quoting come graduation. Da Chen said that he had once been asked what his greatest accomplishment was, and he had replied that his greatest accomplishment was being born. According to Chen, we had already fought the biggest battle of our lives. “Your parents were getting very romantic and you were swimming and swimming, and you were fighting to be the winner. You are all winners! You are all Michael Phelps!” He also went on to tell us that “Everyone one of you is a superman, a soulja boy”, complete with accompanying dance. The sheer joy and enthusiasm that this man had for life was contagious. To finish this off, here are some of my favorites of his quotations and one-liners from his talk, as well as his performance on the bamboo flute.

“You are not a nobody at all. Everybody is somebody, a very important somebody. You were born to do important things.”
“Your life is not satisfying yourself…the meaning of your life is to make a better world…only by doing so can you fulfill the promise you were born with.”
“You are stepping onto the stage of the world. You are stronger than you think. There will be times when reality will creep into your soul. Stay strong…you are here for a very sacred purpose.”

“There is a particular moment in your life that makes you do what you will do for the rest of your life.”

2.  Rubber Chicken Run. This video has already been posted, but I’m going to post it again, just for fun. It was an incredibly silly thing, but I laughed so hard. And that’s one thing I’ve noticed about being here: I’m laughing all the time. In class in my dorm, in my friend’s dorm, in the caf…I’m laughing ever single day. And it feels good.

3. Funniest quotations. Have you ever said anything that just didn’t come out right? Yeah? Well, that happens all the time here. Alright. Let’s go.

In Logic Class, upon hearing that Ludwig Wittgenstein, some German philosopher, was gay: “So Lugwig Wittgenstein was the Elton John of reason.” -KDawg

On the subject of kicking, jumping on and generally destroying the giant mushrooms around campus : “It’s like Whack-a-Mole, only they can’t move and they don’t have a chance.” -KDawg

After I picked up a penny in the Wal-Mart parking lot: “Don’t do that! It might have hepatitis!” -Stella Stargate

Trying to explain the reasoning behind logic to me and Kare-Bear: “”All trees are walruses, therefore common sense has no place in logic.” -Stella Stargate

When describing her outfit for the foam party: “I have a blue shirt, yellow flip flops and together they make the green shorts in between!” –Liz Fudge

When I mentioned that someone had once asked me if I was anorexic, we got this little gem:
“I’m not anorexic! I eat like every two days…I mean minutes! MINUTES!!!” -Me

Upon hearing that Stella and I were going to Wal-Mart just before a hurricane: “Make sure you keep your keys in your hand so you can protect yourself and so you don’t get robbed or raped.” -Charlie Brown

Best LOLCAT of all time: “Im in ur castle…eatin ur peasants.”

When the sexy men print out, there are cookies at lunch or something really good happens: “I has a happy.” –Jude

Pretty much anytime the craziness gets too out of hand: “This is what you are doing. This is what I want you to do.”–Jude, with accompanying hand gestures.

When receiving a piggyback ride: “I am the koala and you are the eucalyptus tree!” –Me

While trying to maintain a studious atmosphere, which Charlie Brown kept breaking: “Charlie, do you want a journal for all those thoughts you keep saying out loud?” –Sister Cartwheel

4.  Fake Fingernails. When I opened up my mailbox on Tuesday, there was a package from my mom and a package of fake fingernails. If I answered the enclosed questionnaire and mailed it in, I might win $500. Money, yes. Nails, creepy.

5. Stripper names. Charlie Brown downloaded an application to his ipod that generates your pirate, jedi and stripper names. Hours of fun…find out what all your professors’ stipper names are! But Liz Fudge gets the best one: Sapphire Velvetkiss. Can’t beat that. I think we need t-shirts.

6. Hurricane Gustav. My first experience with hurricane preparation. Charlie Brown was right: Wal-Mart is a scary place just before a hurricane. But an extra day off school and watching Stargate and looking up LOLCATs and funny quizzes with Stella and her cat is priceless.

7. Caf Happy Hour: All the time we spend in the caf, eating, hanging out and laughing. This is what makes my world.

So, yeah.  At the beginning, the longest I had ever been away from home was three weeks. Today is the three week and one day mark. If I were still at W&M, I would already be half way home. Instead I’m like Samwise Gamgee:

Sam: This is it.
Frodo: This is what?
Sam: If I take one more step, it’ll be the farthest away from home I’ve ever been.
Frodo: Come on, Sam. Remember what Bilbo used to say: “It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

Well, I’ve already taken that one more step. Here’s to the rest of the journey!

With a hop, skip and a jump,

S.

P.S. Just a “Pearls Before Swine” to make you smile!

P.P.S. I always wondered who did the voiceovers for movie trailers. And now I know. Don LaFontaine died recently, but is still a cool guy.


“I have seen the future and it’s like the present, only longer.” – Dan Quisenberry

2 thoughts on ““The world is mud-luscious and puddle-wonderful.”–E. E. Cummings

  1. Pingback: “Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and take a look around once in awhile, you could miss it.” –Ferris Bueller’s Day Off « Susannah Sunshine’s Weblog

Leave a Reply

