“My shoe is off. My foot is cold. I have a bird. I like to hold.” –Dr. Seuss

I am the freaky home school kid. I haven’t been homeschooled for almost four years, and I haven’t been traditionally homeschooled since the seventh grade, but I am still the freaky home school kid. Which is fine. I would be completely different person if I have never been homeschooled, and I like who I am, so I’m glad I had that experience. But after three years of “regular” school, I’m still the freaky home school kid who knows stuff other people don’t. Today in class, Dr. Ukulele was talking about the evolution of the English language. He started to recite the first lines of Canterbury Tales in Old English. I had to memorize the first sixteen lines in Old English in the eighth grade and started chanting under my breath along with him, out of habit. When he stopped and continued the lecture, KDawg looked at me and said, “You were reciting along with him.” And I knew I had. It was a knee jerk reaction, like saying “God Bless You” when somebody sneezes. I replied, “Sorry. Freaky home school kid.”

This is not the first time I’ve done something like that, but it’s the first time I’ve used that phrase.  And it’s okay for me to term myself FHK, but it’s not okay for other people. I don’t know why. It just irks me when people are like, “She knows that because she was homeschooled.” What if I hadn’t been homeschooled and had still known it? Would I still be a freak, or would I be a brain? Only I am allowed to cast my behavior up to my being homeschooled. Because there are so many misconceptions about homeschooling, I’m the only one who gets to make fun of myself for being homeschooled and all the crazy stuff that comes along with it, like knowing the name of a sea urchin’s skeleton* or the four most influential Greek playwrights.** I can’t help being a FHK. It’s part of my background, and I would be a different person if I weren’t. I liked being homeschooled. I liked identifying with the sort of gung-ho people homeschoolers are, even though homeschoolers are often mixed up with unschoolers or thought of as socially awkward cult members. I mean, come on. Socially awkward? Really? Me? I really have no social skills whatsoever, and I suck at interacting with other people. It’s really hard for me. Please. While I have my introverted, anti-social moments, I don’t think coming out of my shell is really all that difficult for me. And if it were, I really wouldn’t immediately go to, “Oh, I was homeschooled. I was in about seven different co-ops during my grade school years, most of which met at my house at least once a month, and I was in plays and did a bunch of sports and music and art classes, so I really didn’t get to interact much with other kids my age, which totally explains my social inadequacies.” Yep, that was pretty much my social-stimulation deprived childhood. J

I probably shouldn’t even term myself FHK. It’s self-deprecating, something that I do a lot. In reality, all I have to remember is “I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and gosh darn people like me!” I tell myself that every day, and I’m sure one day it will sink in!

Anyhoodles, I’m not bitter. I just had a really funky day. I woke up in pain, went to breakfast hating Eve and then checked on my English paper which turned out to be fantastic. Then I went to actual English class, always wonderful and I actually got to eat lunch before taking a French test that I wasn’t really prepared for but still felt good about. I tutored after that, and made a break through with the seventh graders. Then I was in pain again, and I spent three hours making an anklet, but at dinner I got a really nice compliment from Dr. Ukulele via Liz Fudge, the second time English made my day, and all because I was a FHK. Homesick at Wal-Mart (stupid Hallmark cards and Cool-Whip), but when we got back to Zoe, it was almost time for Grey’s Anatomy. And it was awesome. It totally went back to its roots as a great show, and there was no sex, which made it even better. And all those crazy things that freaked me out in the promos? Either dreams or practical jokes or good things for Cristina, who was impaled by an icicle, which was absolutely priceless.  And Bernadette Peters was a guest star in a ball gown who drove a limo like a beast. And Denny made a reappearance in a daydream of Izzie’s. I’m a little miffed that there isn’t another episode for two weeks, but whatever. I’ll live. Then after GA, Charlie Brown started to  go crazy, so I got some pictures and laughed at him for being an idiot. So, on a scale from one to ten, one being hell on earth and ten being no school, peanut m&ms, GA and Friends reruns with lots of real friends and books and fun, today was probably a seven. Maybe even an eight.

After retreat, I was going to get all philosophical and talk about finding the silence and self within and all that good stuff, but I’m not feeling it right now. Sometime this weekend, I’ll probably get in a funk and type it out like mad, but it’s late and tomorrow’s Friday, with plenty more life to live.

Always a freaky home school kid at heart,

S.

*A test

**Euripides, Sophocles, Aristophanes and Aeschylus.

Calvin : You can’t just turn on creativity like a faucet. You have to be in the right mood.
Hobbes : What mood is that?
Calvin : Last-minute panic.

2 thoughts on ““My shoe is off. My foot is cold. I have a bird. I like to hold.” –Dr. Seuss

  1. Nice post, I agree with you. Don’t ever lessen yourself as a person just because people think you may be weird. You’re a lot of fun and I’m happy to call you my friend. Keep up the blog because its always interesting to read about my friend’s outlook on life.

Leave a Reply

