“I think I’ve discovered the secret of life – you just hang around until you get used to it.” –Sally Brown, Peanuts

What a week. So many things going on. However, I have survived. I feel very victorious. It wasn’t that it was a bad week, it was just very stressful. I came back from a magnificent fall break, hugged everybody, with a big one for  Stella, who had spent about a zillion hours on horrendous chem homework and a bigger one for Rudy, spent about eight minutes relaxing, and then jumped right back into the thick of school. I had a paper to write, a speech to give and two midterms to take, and I was ready to tear out my hair. On Thursday, I was driving to tutoring with KDawg and I said, “If I can just get through tomorrow, I’ll be okay.” KDawg looked at me and said, “Well, you’re going to get through tomorrow no matter what.” And she was right. No matter what happened, I was still going to survive. That is, unless a giant meteorite fell on top of me. And that’s pretty unlikely.  So, I got through Friday. I gave my speech, I took my last midterm, I had lunch with my friends and then spent the afternoon sleeping and reading in Zoe. The gang helped Junie B. Jones move in down the hall, so now almost all of my chicas are in the same building. There’s also a possibility Liz Fudge might switch roomies and move in with Junie, which would be epic and amazing.  In fact, that’s what Jude asked Liz for her birthday. I think it’s blackmail (or is it extortion? I can never remember the difference), but if it works, I’m not complaining. After the excitement of moving, we had movie night, one of my favorite parts of the week. All my friends in one place, laughing and talking and eating candy and drinking tea.  We missed Sister Cartwheel, but as she is working on a fabulous new door, we can’t really complain. Saturday was more of the same, only this time it was Estrogen Only. Very fun.  The Peanuts Gang had it right: “Happiness is anyone and anything at all that’s loved by you.” ‘Cause I am feeling pretty happy and content.

And relieved. Relief is definitely a factor here. I’ve got some stuff coming up this week, but nothing too overwhelming. And best of all, I get to see my parents next weekend! It’s been two months-the longest length of time I’ve ever gone without seeing them. Hopefully Sibling-Creature will be able to come too, but who knows. The main thing is that I’ll get to see my parents…at least for a day. And then there’s only a month until Thanksgiving. I actually haven’t been as homesick as I thought I would. I miss my family and my house and my friends, for sure, but I also got homesick for Zoe and my friends here when I was on Fall Break last week. I’ve got my own life here, and I like it just fine. It keeps getting better.

Sally Brown absolutely knew what she was talking about. So was whoever said “Leap and the net will appear.” All you really have to do is just hang in there and everything will be okay. Oh, and by the way, I took the quiz. I’m Sally. I always thought I was more of the Lucy type, but according to Quizilla, I’m the Sally type through and through. Not so bad, I guess. She gets people to do stuff for her, like write her letter to Santa. And she sings my favorite song from “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown”. So that’s all good.

Anyway, all I had to do was hang around school until I got used to it. I’m feeling very well-adjusted, actually. I have a definite schedule that provides for plenty of spontaneity. Always a plus. I think I might actually someday achieve self-actualization. Wouldn’t Maslow be proud? And hey, I’m handling college pretty well, I think.  I’m going to agree with Woody Allen on this one: “Incompetence has never prevented me from plunging in with enthusiasm.” I didn’t feel ready for college, even though I knew I was prepared, but I think I’ve definitely approached it with enthusiasm. I feel pretty in control. And even though I might be struck by a meteorite tomorrow, I know that my life is good. That’s my mantra: Life is good. I’m thinking it now, and I’ll be thinking it until the meteorite comes.

Great. Now I’ve probably jinxed myself. Oy.

Okay, enough rambling. How about a funny scene from a great movie with a great soundtrack? Here it is: one of my favorite scenes from “Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist”. Just enjoy…the whole plot is in this one clip. L’chaim!

Remember: Life is good.  Repeat as needed.

Namaste,

S.

“Life…is like a grapefruit. It’s orange and squishy, and has a few pips in it, and some folks have half of one for breakfast.” –Douglas Adams

Leave a Reply

