“It takes time to be funny. It takes time to extract joy from life.” –Hollie Baylor, “Elizabethtown”

All right, so “Elizabethtown” was not a great movie. However, I love this quotation. It is so true. I wasn’t a funny person until senior year of high school. I occasionally said funny things, usually unintentionally, and I was always doing crazy, stupid things like skipping down the halls or falling out of chairs or going wild with an improve scene. But none of these things were half the fun as being funny actually is. I’m still practicing the whole “a funny thought has come into my head, I should say it out loud” bit. Sometimes what actually comes out is whatever I happen to be thinking at the time. Yep, accidental, uncontrollable Tourette’s. But anyway, it took me a while to become a funnier person. At least, I consider myself to be somewhat witty. I don’t really know when the funny switch was turned on. So, I’m going to track Hannah’s Humorous Evolution…just for the fun of it.

“People always ask me, ‘Were you funny as a child?’ Well, no, I was an accountant.” -Ellen DeGeneres

I was not funny as a child. I wasn’t an accountant either-I had difficulties with long division.  I was a happy child, yes, but I was not exactly funny. I was more of the loud, obnoxious type. Some things never change. However, I’ve always appreciate humor in others. I love to laugh so hard I can’t breathe and I’m crying and laughing and choking and can’t talk and I’m just kind of wheezing, with tears streaming down my face. That’s my favorite. So, here are some familiar-or unfamiliar-clips that strike me as absolutely hilarious. The slapstick humor of Lucille Ball, one of the funniest people of all time, the dead seriousness of “Airplane!”, the recently discovered amazingness of “Hocus Pocus”, and of course, Katie.

VITAMEATAVEGAMIN

I AM SERIOUS….AND DON’T CALL ME SHIRLEY

AMOK! AMOK! AMOK!

MEET KATIE

Humor is reason gone mad.  -Groucho Marx

One summer, I watched every single episode of “Monty Python’s Flying Circus”. Oh yes. And so I discovered the wonder that is British humor, and I’ve never been the same since. So wonderful.

THE DEAD PARROT SKETCH

I think that once I started watching “Friends”, the sarcastic switch was turned on. Some of the funniest moments are when Chandler or Phoebe or somebody is just so sarcastic.  I guess I’m one of those people that picks up whatever they’re around. It could have been worse. I could have watched “Spongebob”. Anyhoo, here is one of my all time favorite parts from my favorite episode. Maybe not the best example of the sarcasm of “Friends”, but certainly one of the funniest.

THE CHAIR ARGUMENT

“I think being funny is not anyone’s first choice.” -Woody Allen

So, I’m fairly certain that my particular brand of humor is the sarcastic and crazy kind-you know, when I’m trying to be funny, I’m sarcastic, and then sometimes I just do or say crazy things and I’m even funnier. It helps that I’m surrounded by hilariously funny people, like Jude and Rudy and Sister Cartwheel and KDawg and Liz Fudge and Stella and Charlie, who all aid and abet me when it comes to being funny. And sometimes, it’s just too funny for words.

RUBBER CHICKEN DESPERATION

The most valuable sense of humor is the kind that enables a person to see instantly what it isn’t safe to laugh at.” -Anonymous

Senior year, I was suddenly and deliberately funny. It was exciting. I felt like I grew a little bit taller, because I wasn’t “the smart one” or “the weird one” or “the loud one” or “the singing one”…I was “the funny one.” One of the people who made class and life more interesting. Now, I will never, ever be as funny as some of the people I went to high school with. These people were just born to be funny and make people smile. They did not have to learn humor; I did. There is the fundamental difference. I guess during Senior Year I felt a lot more confident and sure of myself, so I could afford to make sarcastic remarks every now and again. Take Sacred Questions, for instance. This was not the best class I took in high school. At all. Not even close. But it was much better because of the teacher, Ms. Darbus. Not only was she the drama teacher, she also didn’t know that she hated me. She thought she liked me, but only people who truly dislike me call me by my last name, and she called me by my last name; therefore, she hated me. And she was kind of oblivious to a lot of things, and could get off topic very easily. So I practiced my sarcasm on her. Cruel, yes, but when you’re waiting to go to fifth lunch and she’s still talking about her high school years, it’s either that or eat your neighbor’s arm. And I liked the people on either side of me. I’m no indocannibal. Anyway, I would just make caustic asides all through class…and it was fun. Like the day she told us that it was against Kentucky law to use A.D. and B.C. Apparently, we are now supposed to use C.E. and B.C.E. At least, according to Ms. Darbus. So the next class period, she put up the Nicene Creed on the projector and the dates were in AD. Somebody says, “Hey, Ms. Darbus, aren’t they breaking the law because the dates are in AD?” And a little imp got inside me and I said “Well, actually Ms. Darbus, you’re breaking the law by displaying it in a public place.” Funny? No? Well, it was at the time. And she didn’t even blink an eye. And that is when I knew that I could never return to my sweet, smart, loud, weird, non-funny existence. I had corrupted myself. And I like it. It was fun.

Wow, that’s long. Oh well. Funny is sometimes long.  Did you hear the one about the potato?

Sarcastically,

S.

National Sarcasm Society-Like we need your support.

Warning:  Humor may be hazardous to your illness.  ~Ellie Katz

Leave a Reply

