“For the past decade, I have been focused on one gift and one gift only: puffy paint. But this Christmas is a new dawn of desire, Santa, and I have my sights set on the single most awesome gift ever: a live gecko.” –Sloane Crosley

I love Christmas. I truly do. I like the feeling of happiness and comfort that it brings. Our house isn’t decorated yet, but I’m predicting that we’ll be looking pretty festive after tomorrow. The Sibling-creature and I will be putting up the lights on the outside of the house this afternoon and setting up the Santa village for the munchkins. The tree goes up on Sunday and the annual Cookie-palooza is Monday, so by Tuesday, we’ll be all set. I still have to find presents for Trilby and Strawberry Shortcake, oh and Sibling Creature, but then I can sit back and enjoy the holiday.

I have a little over two weeks left at home. So far, I’ve done a lot of yoga, comforted Strawberry with the best romantic British movies to take her mind off of her missing wisdom teeth, watched the munchkins and had several medical tests to determine if there’s a reason I get super tired in the afternoons and I sometimes get sick after eating. Anemic? No. UTI? Nada. Strep? Nope. Thyroid? Negative. I have a prescription for an acid blocker, so I’ll just have to wait and see if that works. It can’t be solely stress related because half the time I’m not stressed. Hmmm…

Anyway, I’ve enjoyed sleeping and yoga and just being home. Next week, I’m going to need a little more to do, but whatever. It’s nice just to be home. If it snowed, then it would be perfect. Just a little bit more, sky witches! Please?

Everyone’s been asking me what I want for Christmas, and this year, I don’t know. I told my parents I just wanted to come home; I told my friends I wanted hugs. I’ve gotten both, so I’m pretty content. There really isn’t any one thing that I want this year. I have plenty of  clothes, and I’ll probably acquire more by accident and Mom sends me enough surprises at school that I’ve felt like I’ve had a whole semester of Christmases. Zoe is completely decked out, just like I’ve always wanted my room to be. I suppose an itunes card would be nice, but that’s all I can think of. There is no book or gadget or article of clothing I truly want or need. And that’s a pretty good feeling. There’s always been something I’ve really wanted for Christmas. Never a gecko, but an ipod, or a pair of shoes or a board game. Mom completed my quest to acquire everyone of L.M. Montgomery’s books last year for my birthday. It took about six years, but I now own every novel, every collection of short stories. The only thing that would really make it complete is L.M. Montgomery’s journals, but I’m really not interested in those. Her stories are so sweet and romantic, but not in the love story sense. They are romantic in the sense that they are timeless, that they involve love not just between sweethearts but between friends and family and God and nature and self. They are just so sweet and lovely and pure at heart. From what I know about Montgomery, back when the stories and novels were originally published, they were somewhere between Little Women and sensational romantic serials. Now, however, I think they’re right up there with Little Women in the lessons that can be learned.

For me, L.M. Montgomery’s books, especially Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon should be read in the spring or summer. Her descriptions of nature are lovely, and the books are so happy that they deserve to be read in the happiest seasons, at least in my humble opinion. Which reminds me that I need to find Little Women. I’ve read it every year at Christmas since I was about twelve. It opens at Christmas, and is the perfect story of love and family, the two cornerstones of Christmas. Just a joyful heartwarming story. It’s a wonderful book to end the old year and begin the new, because it always makes me feel like a better person when I read it.

So, now that I’m feeling thoroughly Christmas-y, here’s a very sweet song I found a couple weeks ago. To see the real video, which is so sweet and cute, go to http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HUO0gd7cr9o

Just listen to the song on this video…

Entreating the sky witches to bring a true winter,

S.

Our hearts grow tender with childhood memories and love of kindred, and we are better throughout the year for having, in spirit, become a child again at Christmas-time.  ~Laura Ingalls Wilder

3 thoughts on ““For the past decade, I have been focused on one gift and one gift only: puffy paint. But this Christmas is a new dawn of desire, Santa, and I have my sights set on the single most awesome gift ever: a live gecko.” –Sloane Crosley

  1. Aw, I’m glad you’re having a good time at home! Mine’s pretty good, except I’m a little stressed over trying to find Rachel’s phone. It’s now lost and we think someone at a restaurant we went to walked off with it. Not good. But other than that it’s been pretty good. :3

Leave a Reply

