“Sleeping is no mean art: for its sake one must stay awake all day.” –Friedrich Nietzsche

Spain has it right. In the middle of the day, everything stops and the whole country takes a nap. Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about sleep, mainly because I haven’t been getting enough. Yesterday I actually wrote up a schedule for the rest of the week, simply so I could know when I’m going to be able to take naps, because I’ve been so exhausted. I actually have given myself a bedtime for the next couple nights. I am totally in agreement with Carrie Snow, who said that “No day is so bad it can’t be fixed with a nap.” So true. Naps are magical. No matter how long it is, I always feel better after a nap. I remember Dr. Fowl saying at Preview that we should schedule our classes so that we can take naps, because naps were good. Naps ARE good. I never realized that until this year. At about 2pm every afternoon, I start to crash. When this happens, Jude stares me down and says “GO TO SLEEP. Take your nap.” So I do. And I feel better.

You know all those things they tell you about sleep? Like if you don’t sleep, you won’t focus as well. You’ll be more irritable. You’ll feel even more tired than you did the day before. For me these past two weeks, it’s been all of the above. So, mid-February revolution: procrastinate less and sleep more. So I really want to move to Spain. I speak no Spanish, but I understand the concept of siesta. And I think I’m good with just that. What more do you need?

Sleep is just magical. Not only do I’ll feel better after sleep, I’ve started to dream more, or at least remember my dreams more. And they’ve been really great. I like exploring my subconscious. So many nice things have come from dreams. And I really like the movie “Sleeper.” Not that the movie has anything to do with any sleeping, really. I just thought I’d mention it.

And that is why I love Wednesdays. Sleep. I don’t have any classes after 2pm and I don’t usually have any meetings, so on Wednesday afternoons, I take naps. Nice, long, beautiful naps that last until it is dark outside and Zoe is all cozy and warm and I wake up all rested, but still sleepy, and ready for dinner. Wednesdays are the best. Obviously, they don’t trump Thursday nights, or Friday as my all time favorite day of the week, but Wednesdays are so nice. A good Wednesday always makes me feel content.

Today was a good Wednesday. Even though I didn’t get to take a really nice long nap because of a meeting, but I crossed a whole bunch of stuff off of my to-do list. I feel like I accomplished a lot today and even though I still have things to do, I know I’ll be able to get to bed much earlier than I have lately. If I don’t, Jude will just yell at me “You need beans! You need sleep! Go to sleep now!”

Sweet dreams,

S.

“It’s a cruel season that makes you get ready for bed while it’s light out.”  -Bill Watterson

One thought on ““Sleeping is no mean art: for its sake one must stay awake all day.” –Friedrich Nietzsche

Leave a Reply

