“The will of the people is the only legitimate foundation of any government, and to protect its free expression should be our first object.” –Thomas Jefferson

Independence Day is my absolute favorite holiday. It celebrates everything I love, especially freedom of speech. So, to celebrate, some scenes from my favorite musical tribute to the birth of our nation: “1776”. Happy 4th!

And one scene that doesn’t appear in the movie–but should.

“Enlighten the people, generally, and tyranny and oppressions of body and mind will vanish like spirits at the dawn of day.” –Thomas Jefferson

5 thoughts on ““The will of the people is the only legitimate foundation of any government, and to protect its free expression should be our first object.” –Thomas Jefferson

    • Find what? This movie? I’ve been watching it every year since I was four. I discovered the last video at a summer program at William and Mary that I like to refer to as History Nerd Camp. There, we fought over who would marry Thomas Jefferson and watched many historically relevant YouTube videos.

  1. DUDE! Kinda late on the commenting and such but I totally forgot the silent film video existed! SO GOOD!

    Also, I miss you.

Leave a comment