“The truth is that life is delicious, horrible, charming, frightful, sweet, bitter, and that is everything.” –Anatole France

So, I love magazines. I love them. It’s a weakness that I refuse to apologize for. My favorite is Vanity Fair. I am unashamed about this frivolity because it’s in the name of the magazine. Deal with it. One of my favorite parts to read is the Proust Questionnaire. A famous person, a writer, actor, artist, thinker, whoever answers questions that Marcel Proust made famous in 1890 every month. This month it’s Ralph Lauren. So, now, I’m going to answer the questions. If Ralph Lauren can do it, so can I. Here we go!

What is your idea of perfect happiness?

Knowing that everyone I love is safe and happy. Petting a bunny rabbit.

What is your greatest fear?
Disappointment.

What is your greatest extravagance?
Probably magazines.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

“The thing is…”

On what occasion do you lie?
When I don’t have a good answer. And that’s not really a good answer.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?

Trying to please everyone.

Who is your favorite hero of fiction?
Peter Pan.

What do you most value in your friends?

Their laughter.

If you were to die and come back as a person or thing, what do you think it would be?

A squirrel. Or a spelunker.

When and where were you happiest?
My 18th birthday

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
So far, getting into college.

Which talent would you most like to have?
To be a really good cook. Crimefighting skills.

Where would you like to live?
Boston.

What do you dislike most about your appearance?

My right earlobe.

What is your most treasured possession?
My childhood teddy bear.

Who are your favorite writers?
Chaim Potok. Betty Smith. Louisa May Alcott. Alan Bennett. Marjane Satrapi.

Who are your heroes in real life?

Peter Pan. Aung Sun Soo Kyi. Tina Fey.

What is your greatest regret?
I don’t know how to french braid hair.

What is your current state of mind?
Anticipation.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Rudeness.

What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Not being able to help someone in need.

How would you like to die?

After a hot air balloon ride, peacefully, on my 95th birthday.

What is your motto?
“The world is your playground. Why aren’t you playing?”—Ellie Katz

3 thoughts on ““The truth is that life is delicious, horrible, charming, frightful, sweet, bitter, and that is everything.” –Anatole France

  1. Hannah, I just discovered your blog. I like ie! the next time you are home, call me. I will teach you to french braid. I remember braiding your hair on your 1st Communion Day. anne

  2. I remember that too! All of my friends have tried to teach me, so maybe you’ll have better luck. Come back and visit soon! 🙂
    –Hannah

  3. Pingback: Apparently, I have a lot in common with Barbara Walters. « Letters from Hannah

Leave a Reply

