How I Spent My 44 Hours in Milwaukee

I went up to Milwaukee for 2 days to find an apartment. This is what happened.

THINGS I DID IN MILWAUKEE

I…

  • Saw Indiana windmills and thought I was in District 5.
  • Ate at Qdoba twice
  • Almost got a parking ticket
  • Looked at seven apartments—two were scary, three were decent, one was close, one was perfect.
  • Drove past the MLB stadium like it was totally normal
  • Fed cheese to a stray cat on campus
  • Avoided sprinklers
  • Saw someone wearing a shirt from my college
  • Met with my program advisor
  • Offered my services to the Office of Campus Ministry
  • Prayed
  • Managed to get my left side mirror to fall off
  • Duct-taped my left side mirror to my car
  • Walked until my feet turned black
  • Made a pilgrimage to my favorite high school teacher’s old apartment
  • Rescued two sodas from a vending machine
  • Finished two books in between apartment showings
  • Got lost—a lot.
  • Laughed at seagulls
  • Read the July issue of In Style.
  • Found a giant, beautiful independent bookstore
  • Fell in love with the city

THINGS I DID AND PROBABLY SHOULDN’T HAVE

I…

  • Went to Target
  • Kept my parking pass

THINGS I THOUGHT ABOUT DOING BUT DID NOT DO

I thought about…

  • Curling up for a nap in a bookstore
  • Stealing the couch from said bookstore
  • Crying
  • Knocking on someone’s door in a big house on the lake front and asking if A) They had a guest house or B) They were planning on going on a two year sabbatical to Guam and if I could housesit for them
  • Robbing a Dr. Pepper truck
  • Re-enacting any scene from “Bridesmaids” that mentions Milwaukee

THINGS I DID NOT DO

I did not…

  • Eat cheese
  • Drink beer

All in all, a random, if successful trip. Now I just have to cross my fingers and count the days until I return. But first, I’m going to go watch “Bridesmaids”. Again.

Leave a Reply

