A Thank You Note to May 2

Dear May 2:

You have arrived.

FINALLY.

I feel like Rapunzel when she leaves the tower for the first time.

I woke up this morning to no alarm, with no panic, no headache—just pure calm, with a side of “WHA HUH?” because of the dream I had just had.

May 2, you have been very good to me. And for that I thank you. I got to stare at a Monet today, and then I got free cake. I bought a yellow dress. I cleaned my closet and wrapped some presents. I did a headstand. I got to watch “Grey’s Anatomy” guilt-free. It was awesome.

May 2, you are like a long, cool drink of water at the top of a very high and dusty mountain road paved with books on World War II diplomacy, the first female Egyptologist, and the International Woman Suffrage Movement. Now, because of you, I can stand refreshed at the vista of the 270 assignments I must grade between now and May 11 without panic, because the downhill journey is always much easier after a rest.

I have one more year of my master’s degree ahead of me, May 2. One more year. But there is a Second of May every year, literally and metaphorically, like the airdate for Season 4 of “Community”.

I look forward to seeing you again soon, May 2. Because with you, anything is possible. Thanks for being awesome.

Love, Hannah.

Leave a Reply

